Monday, March 27, 2006


Lifetime Awards for Molly Ivins, Anthony Lewis


Published: March 27, 2006 4:28 PM ET

By E&P Staff

NEW YORK -- Creators Syndicate columnist Molly Ivins and former New York Times columnist Anthony Lewis will receive lifetime achievement honors at an April 11 ceremony for winners of Hunter College's James Aronson Awards for Social Justice Journalism. The ceremony -- which takes place at Hunter's New York City campus -- will feature remarks by Ivins and Lewis.

Winners of this year's Aronson awards include Kirk Anderson for "Cartooning with a Conscience," Gary Fields of The Wall Street Journal for exposing problems in the system of "get-tough" prison sentencing, Kevin Fagan of the San Francisco Chronicle for his coverage of the homeless issue, and Tracie McMillan of City Limits magazine for reporting on low-income and working-class people in New York City. Also, the first Aronson Award for blogging is going to University of Michigan Professor Juan Cole for his Iraq War-related "Informed Comment" blog.

Aronson was a longtime journalism professor at Hunter, and a founder and editor of the now-defunct Guardian -- a progressive national weekly newspaper based in New York City.

E&P Staff (

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?